Is my new tank big enough?

BenJames3445

Hi,

I'm new to the hobby, and have been binge watching Aquarium Co-op 😂

I've done quite a bit of research, but I'd love to hear some opinions to see whether I've got a big enough tank for all of the fish I want to keep (at their full-grown size).

So my tank is 36 inches x 17 inches x 17 inches (190L, 50 Gallon) & I have a Fluval 307 & an airstone in there (heater set to 75f).

Here's the total list of fish I'm hoping to put into the tank (slowly, and in order):

5x Zebra Danio
6x Cherry Barb (2M, 4F)
6x Golden Barb
1x Siamese Algae Eater

I've done quite a bit of research and believe that they should be a good match in terms of water temp, parameters, temperament etc.

I went onto this website (https://aqadvisor.com/) and it provided the results attached (I've also attached a photo of the aquarium).

That website thinks I'm well within stocking limits, but I'd much rather be on the cautious side and provide more space for the fish than less.

I'm hoping this will be a beginner-friendly, peaceful tank that is full of hardy fish that will give me the best chance of keeping happy & healthy fish (and will house them once they've fully grown with appropriate space).

If anyone could advise me on whether the tank will be adequate that would be much appreciated!

Any other tips for a beginner with the plan listed above would also be a huge help!
356859636_1029647458411703_1111187306051600492_n.jpg.df1d0b01e22547958dd64cf6307b92c3.jpgScreenshot2023-06-27at21-32-59AqAdvisor-IntelligentFreshwaterTropicalFishAquariumStockingCalculatorandAquariumTank_FilterAdvisor.png.0cf08163093704babef9d4a14bdbad0d.png356859636_1029647458411703_1111187306051600492_n.jpg.df1d0b01e22547958dd64cf6307b92c3.jpg
Thanks,

Ben

• Like 2

Hey Ben,

that’s a pretty tank.